The End of an Era

Last Friday we had a bnd calls where BJ Hargrave indicated that he would have no more time to work on bnd professionally.

BJ and I have been working on OSGi since 1998 and now 25 years later it does feel that for the first time (well for me) we are now reaching uncharted territory. I think nobody that had any view of what was happening in bnd could have any doubts how crucial BJ was for the quality of the code-base and the smooth operation of the project.

Personally it will be a bit of a shock to not have him around to rely on. However, I think most readers also realize how important his function was and how much we owe him.

However, that leaves the question how to continue. There are still numerous products out there that are based on OSGi and bnd tends to play an important role in getting the necessary headers in open source bundles. Like many software projects, it will require that someone provides the loving care that BJ did for so many years. For example, new VMs now are produced at a staggering rate and each VM will require some attention. Many libraries change and sometimes this requires some adaption. We have numerous PR’s that need to be reviewed and accepted. Also the issues reported need to be discussed and a decision made on. If you, or better your company, is willing to provide some support, then let me know.

Anyway, lets not hijack this topic with the practical issues. From the bottom of my heart, BJ, thank you for the immense amount of work you did!

3 Likes

Thanks for the kind words. I wish OSGi and bnd the best and, while I wont be working on bnd on a day-to-day basis anymore, I look forward to bnd continuing to be important and relevant.

4 Likes

Hear, hear! It’s been a pleasure to be able to work with BJ and I would like to thank him for all the professional support that he has given to the project and to me personally. May God bless you in your new endeavours!

1 Like